top of page

The Mission Impossible Come True


The first time Lihuan talked about ISC with me was sometime in 2016. Back then the two of us liked to make weekly phone calls sharing ideas and progress we had from our lives of the past week. And during one of those routine calls she shared with me her wish of building an organization to help women develop and improve. She told me she even had a name and was working on the logo, and I could hear her excitement through the phone, Even though I felt it was a great initiative, I didn't believe it could happen any time soon. Why? At that time my in-laws just went back to China after finishing their one and half year long babysitting super helper role. I was barely in survival mode handling a job and 2 kids. I was so stressed that I even stopped our weekly call routine not long after. So I thought Lihuan's idea was mission impossible, as she also works full-time and has 2 kids same age as mine. So I assumed she would drop the idea after the initial fun of designing logos and improvising names.

Then another day a few months later we ran into each other at a kid's birthday party, and she told me she was taking a day off that day to prepare the organization registration. What? This is really happening?

And then a couple of months later she invited me to the 1st workshop.

And then less than a year later, last Sunday, I was seated at a fancy lunch table among a total of 11 ISC members celebrating our 1st annual GALA.

During her GALA speech, Lihuan said this is a wish come true to her. To me, it is the mission impossible come true, and I've witnessed the journey all along the way. It takes a great deal of time, hard work, dedication and most importantly, passion, to make this happen. She keeps reading books, going to seminars and trainings to charge herself; she is actively in the search for guest speakers and potential members; she is engaged in every aspects of the organization, from meeting room booking to slides preparation; she has been learning new skills to build website and make fancy slides, and she just showcased one of her new "Get" by playing the beautiful video she made at the GALA. And she does all of this outside of her busy schedule.

As a friend, I feel truly happy for Lihuan's achievement and deeply proud of her, that I can't help write this down. And I'm happy for myself to have known her, thus got the opportunity to be part of this wonderful journey.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page